Who Am I?

Skies Like These

Hilmo, Tess. Skies Like These. New York: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2014.

“While visiting her eccentric aunt who lives in Wyoming, twelve-year-old Jade befriends a boy who believes he is a descendant of Butch Cassidy.” – CIP. This lively story, with the rhythm of a rollicking square dance, is highly recommended for readers who love language and laughter.  [Astronomy; Aunts; Dogs; Eccentrics and eccentricities; Friendship; Ranch life; Self-acceptance; Wyoming]  

Jade’s reluctance to enjoy country life reminds me of Arthur, for the Very First Time by Patricia MacLachlan.

The crazy kindness of Jade’s aunt reminds me of The Canning Season by Polly Horvath.

Jade’s determination reminds me of Hazel Rye be Vera Cleaver.

Her friend Roy’s imagination reminds me of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain.

Roy’s certainty that he is related to Butch Cassidy reminds me of Arthur’s Toothache by Barbara Williams.

The stargazing reminds me of The Same Stuff as Stars by Katherine Paterson.

The strong verbs and the rhythm of the language remind me of Missing May by Cynthia Rylant. 

“I am not eccentric. It’s just that I am more alive than most people.” – Edith Sitwell, British poet

Print Friendly, PDF & Email