Diary of a Wimpy Kid

If you liked . . .
Diary of a Wimpy Kid,
you might like these novels, too!

My favorite book is The Diary of a Wimpy Kid because he is a kid just like me and he is just funny. If you have been having troubles reading, you should really try the book out, not only because it’s funny. It’s just when you think about it, [the book is] actually exactly how a kid acts. It might just be me, but I have liked every book that I have read since The Diary of a Wimpy Kid. (Jacob)

AUTHORS:
Adler, David A.
Angleberger, Tom
Clements, Andrew
Gutman, Dan
Kelly, Jamie
Korman, Gordon
Pilkey, Dav
Stilton, Geronimo

Humorous stories:
Gantos, Jack. Joey Pigza. [series]
Greenwald, Tommy. Charlie Joe Jackson. [series]
Griffiths, Andy. The Thirteen-StoryTreehouse. [series]
Hermes, Patricia. Kevin Corbett Eats Flies.
Pastis, Stephan. Mistakes Were Made. [series]
Patterson, James. I Funny. [series]
Peck, Robert Newton. Soup. [series]
Peirce, Lincoln. Big Nate. [series]
Pennypacker, Sara. Waylon! One Awesome Thing.
Rockwell, Thomas. How to Eat Fried Worms. 
Sachar, Louis. Marvin Redpost: A Flying Birthday
Sachar, Louis. Marvin Redpost: Why Pick on Me? 
Spinelli, Jerry. There’s a Girl in My Hammerlock

Novels about family life:
Estes, Eleanor. The Moffats
Estes, Eleanor. The Middle Moffat
Estes, Eleanor. Ginger Pye. 
Moses, Sheila P. The Baptism. 
Spinelli, Jerry. Eggs
Spinelli, Jerry. Loser
Wynne-Jones, Tim. Rex Zero, King of Nothing
Wynne-Jones, Tim. Rex Zero and the End of the World

 

Adler, David A. Cam Jansen and the Joke House Mystery. New York: Viking, 2014.
“While Cam’s Aunt Molly is competing in a comedy contest, the expensive plate the winner will receive disappears and Cam and Eric set out to find it before the contest is over.” – CIP.  There are dozens of Cam Jansen mysteries in this easy-to-read series from a prolific author of fiction and nonfiction children’s books. 

Dowell, Frances O’Roark. Phineas L. MacGuire Erupts! New York: Aladdin Paperbacks, 2007, c2006.
“Fourth-grade science whiz Phineas MacGuire is forced to team up with the new boy in class on a science fair project, but the boy’s quirky personality causes Phineas to wonder if they have any chance of winning.” – CIP. Large print and widely-spaced lines makes this an easy-to-read novel. But the lively humour by this outstanding writer makes this novel appealing for anyone who wants to relax and laugh for awhile. Highly recommended. [Schools; Science projects; Friendship]

Horvath, Polly. Very Rich. New York: Puffin, 2018.
Ten-year-old Rupert is hungry and neglected. Neither of his parents care for him. But one Christmas he’s invited into the wealthy home of an eccentric family. Suddenly, his life is completely changed. If you’ve read other stories by Polly Horvath, you know that at least a little wackiness is ahead. Be ready for the unexpected! [Eccentrics and eccentricities; Family life; Ohio; Paranormal; Poverty; Wealth]

Kelly, Jacqueline. Skunked! New York: Henry Holt and Company, 2016.
Eleven-year-old Travis adopts two baby skunks in this historical novel for young readers. Set in a small Texan town in 1901, this easy-to-read story focuses on the younger brother of Callie, the main character in two previous novels for older readers: The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate and The Curious World of Calpurnia Tate. While this new novel still features Callie as narrator, the action centres on Travis and his escapades with two wild creatures. A great story for readers 7 to 11 years old. [Country life; historical fiction; naturalists; pets; skunks; Texas]

Klise, Kate. Far From Normal. Scholastic Press, 2006.
This entertaining sequel to Deliver Us from Normal tells what happens when a huge chain turns Charles Harrisong’s life into a television show.  Everyone in the family has to appear in embarrassing commercials. They get paid in coupons that are only redeemable in the chain’s stores.  They are not allowed to go anywhere without permission. And the script for the show makes them look foolish.  The thought of a normal, quiet life starts to become very attractive. But how will they escape their contract, the lawyers and the technology guarding them?  Readers who’ve enjoyed The Wimpy Kid Movie Diary or Half-moon Investigations might like to try this hilarious, fast-moving novel. 

Reeve, Philip and Sarah McIntyre. Oliver and the Sea Monkeys. New York: Yearling, 2016, c2013. 
Oliver finds more than he could have imagined when he sets out to find his missing parents in this easy-to-read adventure story for readers 9 years old and up. [England; Fantasy fiction; Islands; Mermaids] 

More easy-to-read novels

And more!

 


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *