Riordan, Rick

Percy Jackson and the Olympians

The Lightning Thief (AR 4.7)
The Sea of Monsters (AR 4.6)
The Titan’s Curse (AR 4.2)
The Battle of the Labyrinth (AR 4.1)
The Demigod Files (AR 4.3)
The Last Olympian (AR 4.3)

Have you ever felt like you can’t get a book into your head? No matter what you do, every time you crack open that book, it just felt like you were reading word after word after word? Well, you and I have something in common. What you just heard was me the last 12 years of my life. No matter what I tried, I just couldn’t read a book. That is, until a while ago. The Lightning Thief (Hyperion Books, 2005 ) is the story of 12-year-old Percy Jackson who discovers he is both a demigod and the son of the Greek god Poseidon. The adventure begins when Percy has to go on a journey with his two friends to prevent a war between the gods Poseidon, Zeus and Hades. This book got me so hooked, I couldn’t stop reading! Usually I feel so intelligent, that I would pick out nice big novels to impress people, but I would usually stumble around only 5 pages into the book… In contrast, The Lightning Thief pulled me in so hard that I couldn’t get out of its grip. I encourage everyone to read this novel because it is a great book written by one of my favorite authors, Rick Riordan. (Kelvin in grade eight)

Did you know that Percy Jackson is a demigod and is the son of Poseidon, a Greek God? Did you know that Poseidon, Hades, and Zeus are all Greek Gods, and brothers who dislike each other? The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan (Hyperion Books, 2005) tells all sorts of enchanting facts about Camp Half Blood and Greek Gods. I learned that Camp Half-blood is a place where kids go if they are half-god and half-human (a Greek God is one parent, and a mortal human is the other). I also learned that each demigod gets a unique present from their Olympian parent; Percy gets a pen that turns into a beautiful sword whenever you click it, and it always reappears in his pocket when he needs it. These demigod children also inherit certain powers from their Olympian parents; in Percy’s case, because his father is Poseidon, he can control water. The Lightning Thief is a very interesting and compelling novel about demigods and their parents. (Meghan in grade eight)

The Lighting Thief by Rick Riordan (Hyperion 2005) tells the story of 12-year-old Percy Jackson who has just found out he is a demigod. He is at a museum and gets attacked by a mythical monster that isn’t so mythical, after all, because it’s attacking him and at the same time telling him that he is the son of Poseiden. It turns out he is!  Then his teacher comes out of his wheelchair, turns into a centaur and tells him to go to a camp made for demigods. On the way, Percy is attacked by the big scary minotaur that killed his mom. Percy is mad. He gets his revenge by tearing off the minotaur’s horns and impaling it with one of its own horns. Percy then goes to the camp to find out his dad is one of the three most powerful gods, which makes Percy one of the most powerful demigods. I enjoyed this book from beginning to end, and I plan on reading the sequels. (Jake in grade eight)

The Titan’s Curse (Hyperion Books, 2007) is the story in which 14-year old demigod Percy Jackson sets out on an adventure to save his friend, Annabeth Chase, and the Greek goddess, Artemis, from the titan, Atlas. The story kicks off when Grover find two unclaimed demigods that are siblings. There is the older sister, Angela, and the younger brother, Nico. Both of which are actually children of the Greek god of the dead, Hades (this is not revealed until the end of the book). Afterwards, Percy is companied by 4 others to save Annabeth and Artemis. After many sacrifices and deaths, Percy is left with 2 members. Zoe and Thalia. Zoe is faced against terror and nervousness when she sees Atlas holding Annabeth and Artemis hostage because he is her dad. White Artemis is stuck holding the sky, Annabeth is stuck and paralyzed. Percy is either courageous, or stupid, but he takes Artemis’s place holding the sky and nearly passes out within the first second. He sees Artemis take away Annabeth and tackles Atlas until he knocks out Percy and has taken the position holding the sky. Afterwards, Zoe passes away and dissolves into a beautiful position holding the sky. Afterwards, Zoe passes away and dissolves into a beautiful glitter. At the end of the story, the gods recognize Percy for is courageous acts and grant him another year of life.
This book was one of the most encouraging stories I have ever read because it shows a ton of courage, empathy, and despair even if it was just a fiction novel. I really enjoyed this book because it was written by my favorite author, Rick Riordan. (Kelvin in grade eight)

The Kane Chronicles

The Red Pyramid
The Throne of Fire
The Serpent’s Shadow

Riordan, Rick. The Red Pyramid. Disney • Hyperion Books, 2010.
When fourteen-year-old Carter and twelve-year-old Sadie Kane embark on a quest to save their father, they discover that the gods of ancient Egypt are still alive and extraordinarily powerful. Much like the Percy Jackson series about the ancient Greek gods, this story is full of action and excitement. Unfortunately, it is also full of current slang and awkward colloquialisms. And the two main characters seem more like caricatures than real people. But the book does provide plenty of information about ancient Egypt. (Ms. Rosen)

The Heroes of Olympus

The Lost Hero
The Son of Neptune

Riordan, Rick. The Lost Hero. Disney • Hyperion, 2010.
Percy Jackson has disappeared and Jason is the hero in the first book in a new series, The Heroes of Olympus. Jason, Leo and Piper discover their powers as demigods as they battle evil in this fast-paced novel by a well-known and competent writer.

Where Am I?
Before she could pass out,
she said,”I want to see everything.”
They tossed her, gasping and shivering, onto the shore.
Annabeth’s expression was pained.
“I’m sorry,” she said.
           (a found poem by Kelvin from The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan)

Riordan, Rick. The Son of Neptune. Disney • Hyperion, 2011.

The 39 Clues

The Maze of Bones

This series was started by Rick Riordan but various well-known authors have contributed to the growing set of stories.

Rick Riordan was born in Texas in 1964.
You can learn more about him and about his books at . . .


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *